Such declaration is heavy and life demanding. The world will test such words… You’ll go hungry, you’ll be hated, you’ll be beaten, you’ll face all manners of challenges. You’ll almost if not actually, deny God… The cost is heavy. The cost is the cross. The cross is shameful. The cross is full of curse for cursed is anyone who hangs on the cross… Such is the cost. But I choose to stay with the cross. The perishing ones think the cross to be foolish. But we know that the foolishness of God is wiser than the greatest wisdom of this world. So I embrace that one. I choose the cross. So I heard Him say to me, take up your cross daily, follow me. So I say to myself, daily I die. I also sing this with great conviction, daily as I live, often as I live, let my whole life be an expression of your grace. Your grace preserves. Your grace keeps. I choose the grace to pass through the cross. The cross is tough, but grace makes you tougher. The cross is full of shame, but grace makes you not ashamed. I choose grace. I carry my cross and follow in grace, hence, I grow in grace. Halleluyah!

Anyone who goes to the cross without Christ dies and perishes. Christ is the differential factor on the journey to the cross. The cross is a consumer. It has consumed a whole lot of people. The cross is deep. You need Christ to go all the way. The cross is deep, you need the Holy Ghost to comfort you. The cross is deep, you need angels to minister to you. The cross is deep, your sweat may become as thick as blood. The cross is deep, you may not find anybody to help you out. The cross is deep, you’ll fall many times. The cross is….. I fear the cross, but Christ empowers me to take the cross. I fear the cross, but Christ stirs up faith in me. I fear the cross wishing the cup can pass over me, yet I remember, not my will Lord. I fear the cross but that’s my cross. On the way to the cross, I’ll be beaten, spitted upon, slapped many times, words will be spoken against me… I fear the cross, but I must go for the liberation of my people. I must be saved and the only place of safety is through the cross.
The cross is a place of solitary, but I choose the cross for there are many angels there to comfort me. The cross is a place of loneliness, but I’ll grow into oneness with God. The cross is a place of desolation, but I know that I’ll be joined by so great cloud of witnesses, cheering me to the end. The cross is a place of destitution, but I know it’s a place of communion with Christ. The cross is a place of misery, but I know I’ll learn the mystery of the God-head there. The cross, the cross… Lead me to the cross, for I’ll waste my life if I go alone. The cross the cross, take me by your hands and lead me to the altar of sacrifice. The cross is a place of sacrifice, presenting the body as a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable unto God. Isaac was led to the place of death his father, the place of the cross, yet he came back alive unto God. No one goes to the cross and stays alive, but I know I’ll rise as Christ. The cross, oh the cross, no man goes to the cross with reputation intact, no, you’ll need to become a man of no reputation. Oh cross, it makes you formless so you can pick up the form of Godliness. You cannot love iniquity and go the way of the cross, you must love righteousness and live according to the tutoring of the Truth. The cross, a place where you are hated, yet you show love unfeigned. The cross, a place of pain and regret, yet you must stay strong to pray them into forgiveness. The cross, a place where your closest associate will deny you with an oath thrice. The cross, a place where you’ll become deformed. I dread the cross, but it’s my lot so I must go to the cross. The cross, the son of perdition sends me there, yet I’ll believe until my soul is perfectly saved. The cross, not a place of merry but a place of great sorrow and wiping, but I know that though sorrow may last through the night, Joy comes in the morning. The cross, a place of mourning, yet I must endure the cross, despise the shame, for joy lies ahead of me. I choose the cross, no matter what I’ll suffer. I choose the cross, no matter what I may lack naturally. I choose the cross, no matter what affliction I face. I choose the cross, no matter the tribulations that befall me. I choose the cross, for it is life to them that find it. The cross, I must die so I must rise. I choose the cross. Help me oh Lord not to run back from the way of the cross. Help me to be fearless rather than being careless. Help me to be Faithful rather than being faithless. Teach me to always choose the cross, the place of dying daily. I choose the cross.

